How The Internet Has Changed

Old_New_Screen

 

In 1999 I got my first computer, I was already 47 yrs old. It was for my teenage kids and I took to it like a duck to water. We were running an operating system that kept crashing. With only a 10 G hard drive which soon became full. Crashes were common and I had to learn to “fix” the computer.

My older brother, who was more savvy about computers at the time, was called on frequently. If I heard, “What did you do that for?” one more time I thought I would scream.  So not wanting to call on my brother I taught myself how to fix the issues.  Researched the issues and fixed many problems.  That operating system taught me a lot about computers.  Fortunately I upgraded my operating system and got more room on my hard drive and the issues became less.

Over time the internet has gotten more restrictive and full of garbage and advertising.  In North America there is a clear division between Canada and the US.  A lot of the time you can’t get US programming or some of the US sites are restricted. Canada now has it’s own Google, Facebook, and search engines.  Where as before you could get out to other countries to get information it has become harder to do this.  Not wanting to become a hacker I live in frustration.

Pet peeve, going to a site that has so many ad pop ups and videos running that it freezes my browser.  Trying another browser it’s the same thing.  I have the latest operating system, graphic card and lots of storage so this is not the issue.  Now advertisers have figured out that the internet is the way to go.  More and more people are forgoing their cable TVs and only relying on the internet for viewing.  Website owners are signing up for advertising to make money for themselves.  Nothing is free any longer.

The internet is used for communicating, dating, pirating, exchange of ideas, flaming, and ripping people off.  Unscrupulous people have misinformed us and tricked us and misdirected us.  Is it any different than the real world?  No, but the exposure to a wider variety of people has lead to privacy issues.  We all had to learn to clamp down on our privacy.  We had to teach our children how to responsibly use the internet for their safety and not click on everything on the screen, and not believe everything they read.

“Sneaky little Hobbitses. Wicked, tricksy, false!” – J.R.R. Tolkien –

“All’s well that ends better.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

Cable_Line

Leave a Reply

